Getting to Know Commit #14: Victor Rosa

UConn landed one of the biggest fishes in the class of 2022 in Bristol’s Victor Rosa. A 5’11 187 ATH for Bristol Central, Rosa chose the Huskies over offers from Boston College, Air Force, Army, Columbia, Dartmouth, Fordham, Maine, Navy, New Hampshire, and Yale. That offer was surely set to grow, as Rosa impressed during camps at Boston College, Clemson, and Florida. A member of former Husky RB Stanley “Stack” Williams’ Supreme Athlete program, Rosa is rated as the 2nd best player in CT, behind Loomis Chaffee’s Alessandro Lorenzetti, a Michigan commit.

Listed as an ATH, Rosa says he is a WR/slot receiver. He can play a variety of positions, however, including starting as the Rams’ QB in 2019. He is fast, with a capital F, and that speed won him the 200 meter dash in this year’s Class L outdoor track and field championship. Like many of this year’s commits, Corey Edsall was the main recruiter. The message from Corey was “they are building something special, and turning the program around. I can make a very big impact once I get there!” UConn was offer number one for Rosa, and the persistence paid off.

Rosa’s commitment video was titled “Hometown Hero.” It’s important to him to get UConn back to where it used to be. “I’ve dreamed about going D1 all of my life. I was young, but my dad always reminds me of how great it was seeing UConn winning bowl games. I’ve always seen games all the time growing up throughout the years” (ed. note: I’m very sad/feeling old that HS seniors don’t remember the golden years).

Rosa hasn’t spoken much with current players, but he’s worked out with a few at Supreme Athlete. “Definitely going to talk to them more though as the time gets closer to form a stronger bond with all of them. Sounds like overall they are turning this program around and heading in the right direction.” Rosa has plans to continue to keep recruiting, specifically Kenny Soares, now at Avon Old Farms. From our friends over at Storrs Central, “Off the top of my head, I would love for my boy Kenny Soares to join the family and turn up with us,” he said. “ We could definitely do something special together and we need weapons like him. My message to guys like that is that we are building something here and turning this program around. Let’s make the move and make it official, let’s make a big name for yourself here together.”

Rosa, of course, is teammates with men’s basketball’s latest commit, Donovan Clingan. But this isn’t a package deal situation, as each one is looking to cement their own legacy. “The fact that Donovan and I are both going to UConn is awesome, but our decisions were not based on each other at all, whatsoever. We both grew up playing basketball together, and still do, and it’s a blessing to see us both succeeding in the sports we love.”

As always, to wrap things up, what would Rosa like to say to UConn fans on what he’ll be bringing to Storrs? “I’m a dawg, and I’m coming to work. I’ve been working at my craft and have had a love for the game ever since I was a baby. I plan to make a huge impact, and can’t wait to get to work with the UConn family.”

Big thanks to Victor for taking the time out. If you haven’t already, give him a follow on Twitter at @VRosa_ and welcome him to UConn Nation!

Leave a comment